TCP-IP and Profilab

Antworten
QMESAR
Beiträge: 23
Registriert: Donnerstag 16. April 2015, 12:17

TCP-IP and Profilab

Beitrag von QMESAR » Freitag 23. Dezember 2016, 07:34

Hello Team.

I am using Profilab for a few years and did many project with micro controllers and Profilab interfaces to the mcu's over serial port and now using an FTDI USB translator chip and serial,
However I am designing a new PLC controller which uses a PLC board with an Ethernet interface as shown in the attached photo and I would like to ask some information about PL4.0

(1) is it possible to use the PL4.0 TCP block to interface PL to my mcu in UDP
(2) what possibilities does PL have to do such a connection
(3) any idea how I can use PL with this Ethernet port on the PLC board


I appreciate any help or comments

Best Regards
Peter
Dateianhänge
2.PNG
2.PNG (199.78 KiB) 1859 mal betrachtet

Messtechniker
Beiträge: 60
Registriert: Mittwoch 15. April 2009, 10:58

Re: TCP-IP and Profilab

Beitrag von Messtechniker » Freitag 23. Dezember 2016, 19:25

The way to go is to use a piece of external software - a virtual ethernet com port -
like this one, for example:
http://www.hw-group.com/products/hw_vsp/index_en.html

I use it all the time in connection with Profilab and LAN DMMs, LAN scopes and LAN PSUs and LAN what not.
Just search the Profilab Expert forum for SCPI, for some examples.

Yours Messtechniker

QMESAR
Beiträge: 23
Registriert: Donnerstag 16. April 2015, 12:17

Re: TCP-IP and Profilab

Beitrag von QMESAR » Samstag 24. Dezember 2016, 06:49

The way to go is to use a piece of external software - a virtual ethernet com port -
Dear Messtechniker

Thank you very much for your help It is really appreciated
Have a wonderful Christmas time and new year


Peter
Zuletzt geändert von QMESAR am Samstag 24. Dezember 2016, 08:21, insgesamt 1-mal geändert.

QMESAR
Beiträge: 23
Registriert: Donnerstag 16. April 2015, 12:17

Re: TCP-IP and Profilab

Beitrag von QMESAR » Samstag 24. Dezember 2016, 08:20

I use it all the time in connection with Profilab and LAN DMMs, LAN scopes and LAN PSUs and LAN what not.
Dear Messtechniker.

I am very new to this topic and appreciate all help I get,
reading from the link you posted it is not clear to me does this driver needs to be installed on the machine that runs PL4.0 program and does it run in the backgroud
secondly do you need to start this driver every time you run your PL SW or does it automatically start when the PC boots up

many thanks for sharing your experiences


Regards
Peter

Messtechniker
Beiträge: 60
Registriert: Mittwoch 15. April 2009, 10:58

Re: TCP-IP and Profilab

Beitrag von Messtechniker » Samstag 24. Dezember 2016, 10:05

The virtual LAN COM port software/driver needs to be installed on the PC running Profilab and it runs in the background
You then access this new COM port though a COM component of Profilab set up accordingly (Port, Baud Rate etc.)

The virtual LAN software/driver can be made to start up automatically once it has been set up.
Finding the necessary LAN TCP/UDP port data and settings of your target unit can be a bit difficult
as these are often not prominently or not mentioned at all in the documentation.

Yours Messtechniker

QMESAR
Beiträge: 23
Registriert: Donnerstag 16. April 2015, 12:17

Re: TCP-IP and Profilab

Beitrag von QMESAR » Samstag 24. Dezember 2016, 12:06

Thank you very much for sharing the information much appreciated Messtechniker :)


Regards
Peter

Antworten

Zurück zu „Hardware-Anbindung, I/O-Schnittstellen“